Hello world!


Things happen for a reason.

I’ve always believed that, but now I’m sure.  We just came in from seeing Julie and Julia – a fabulous feel-good movie.  On the surface it’s about the true story of a woman who cooks her way through Julia Child’s cookbook in a year and blogs about it.  In reality it is about following your heart and getting up off the couch and acting on what you are passionate about.

So it’s 10:30 on a rainy Saturday night, and here I am.

For about 3 years I’ve been telling people that I’m working on this book called “Lessons From Gus.”  I have been working, but most of what I have to show for it is  still in my head.  At some point every day I have an “aha” moment where some reality about the world is drawn into sharper focus through my experiences with Gus – my 82 pound Labradoodle.  Now don’t get me wrong – I’m not here to blog about doggie life or pet care.  The lessons that Gus has taught me in the past 3 1/2 years are about my life, and how to live it. The subtitle of the book is “Essential life wisdom for people.”

I’ve kept track of all the “big lessons” and I’ve compiled them into the table of contents and a few short pieces for my fledgling book.  It’s sort of a cross between Marley and Me, Tuesdays with Morrie, and Life’s Little Instruction Book – all 3 of which I highly recommend to anyone who hasn’t read them.

So anyways, I think I’m starting to ramble a bit, which I think is a bit of a blogging “no-no”.  Here’s the bottom line:  I am making a commitment to myself to write some piece for the book every day until the end of the year.  I’m going to do it through this blog, and then by January 1, 2010 I should have something worthy of moving forward with.

Along the way, I hope to share some of my passion and hopefully a little of what I believe is wisdom for life.  Maybe I’ll even touch some like-minded souls out there.  I guess you’ll let me know…

2 Responses

  1. You are so much deeper than you let on. Jeff is a very lucky man. Your family is blessed by you, or is it the other way around.

  2. You are breath of fresh air!!!! 🙂 Enjoyed reading your blog

Leave a Reply

